Dear readers,

most people in my environment know by now that I prefer healthy, organic meals over a Big Mac. I’ve been into the ‘healthy’ kind of nutrition for some years now, but it’s only until quite recently that people actually know that about me. All of this, because I always was afraid to tell my friends that I’d rather not go for the cheap, junk-food option; which is, in most cases, something like the McDonalds. Don’t get me wrong, at the age of 14 I looooved those big brownies and greasy pizza’s, just like everybody else does (if not more than average). But at the end of the day, it made me feel gross (aside from the upset hormones within my body of course). 

When I was about 15, I started discovering more and more healthier options. I began switching snacks such as snickers with avocados and replacing Nutella sandwiches with rice-crackers with almond butter. I had those options thanks to my mother (who knows everything about the goods and the bads in nutrition). Now that I really think about it, I’m so grateful for that (credits to you mom).

Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not that type of person who lives on salads and green juices all day long. I eat a some chocolate every evening (and that is definitely not all), even if I ate some sort of calorie-bomb a few hours before. But I try to eat the good type of chocolate. You know, the one with perhaps some nuts added and more than at least 65% raw cocoa (instead of mostly milk and sugar).

The hardest thing about caring so much, as I already mentioned previously, is going places with other people who just don’t care. Since I’m pretty bad at standing up for myself, I always just went with it, and I must admit, I still do. Of course, a pasta here and a donut there won’t hurt nobody, but because it keeps happening a lot, I can feel really shitty about it sometimes. The problem is: I don’t let anyone notice that. I just end up not feeling all right when I’m home and to make me feel better, I promise myself to eat extra healthy the next day (which can be quite hard sometimes).

I could go on about this subject for hours, and I’d totally write some tips and reasons on eating as good as possible, but that would make a really long article. So I’m going to leave it like this for now, but let me know if your interested in a post about my personal how-to’s that deal with these kind of situations!

I hope this post was somewhat relatable / funny in a way (and that it didn’t turn out into some sort of rant), have a good day! x

pictures are not mine, source: www.weheartit.com

 

 

