1. Emma Watson

Oh, Emma. She has been my absolute number one icon since I first watched Harry Potter. Even despite all the fame that the movies brought her, she keeps both her feet on the ground. And in a glamour-world full of opportunities, that must be quite hard to do. Not only this indicates her smartness and strength, but also the fact that even after all of these hectic years (and earned money) she still wanted to attend a University. Besides, she is also a feminist and she is not afraid to show it. She is ambassador of the HeForShe campain and man, her speech was on point. Here are some quotes of her about the campaign (sorry, I can’t just choose one):

“We need yin and yang. We need that balance. We need female representation. We need female leadership.” 

“If you believe in equality, you’re a feminist. Sorry to tell you.”

If not me, then who? If not now, then when?”

2. Audrey Hepburn

Okay, so, where to start with this ever so graceful and lovely woman? Daughter of a Dutch baroness and British Banker, born in Brussels, often remembered as a pretty actress, but she has so much more to her story than that. While constantly living in fear in Arnhem (which I still quite can’t get over since that is my hometown) during World War II, she was brave enough to work with the Resistance by delivering secret messages in her shoes.  All those years must have been absolute horror. Arnhem was bombardemended and ruined by the Nazi’s, therefore there was no heat and decent food. She used to only live on tulip bulbs! Because of that she was always hungry and therefore she gained health problems and got a tiny, fragile figure. To collect money, she used to dance ballet a lot during these days. After the Holocaust, she went to London with her mom. She began to model and act and so her fame begun. In her later years she spent more time doing humanitarian work than acting by being ambassador of UNICEF. If she isn’t the best role model of all times, I don’t know what else to say. What a pure beauty, inside and out.

“The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mode, but the true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It is the caring that she lovingly gives the passion that she shows.

The beauty of a woman grows with the passing years.”

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!”

“I believe in manicures. I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and… I believe in miracles.” 

3. Anne Hathaway

As a 13-year old she used to be one of my idols. She still is, though. Anne is of those rare people who where just born to act, but still keep doing their best to improve themselves everyday, which is one of the things I admire about her. She has a raw natural talent. Literally every role she plays seems like she is that particylar person and that she has never been anyone else but that person. Not many actors and actresses can pull that of, to be honest. And she has a kind heart as well. At least, that’s what I assume. She financially supports some charities such as Step Up Women’s Network and the Lollipop Theater Network. How can you just not love her?  

”I look my best after an entire hair and makeup team has spent hours perfecting me. When do I feel my best? When I haven’t looked in a mirror for days, and I’m doing things that make me happy.”

4. Amanda Seyfried

I literally obsess over every movie Amanda Seyfried stars in. From Mama Mia, Dear John and Letters to Juilliet to Les Miserables and Red Riding Hood. All of them are must-sees (that can’t be a coincidence, right?). I remember reading an interview of her talking about her ‘imperfections’ and how she used to be so ashamed of them, but now she embraces them and she feels good about herself. I was 13 at that age and really insecure. After reading that article it actually made me feel a lot better, and I still thank her for that. She seems just so honest, witty and down-to-earth, I’d love to be her friend one day. Apparently she suffers from anxiety and panic attacks but on (and off-)screen you wouldn’t think that at all! Besides her hard work as an actress, she also is a great singer! One of the songs on Dear John was actually written by her, and it is oh so beautiful. Click here to listen.

“Making people laugh is magic. I feel like if you have humility, then you can do anything in comedy” 

5. Jennifer Lawrence

What I like about Jennifer is that she just doesn’t care. She literally doesn’t give a shit about what others think of her. Being herself and doing what she wants is just such a natural habit to her and I feel like being so nonchalant about it inspires others to kind of get rid of the self-judging as well. She also didn’t want to be super thin whilst filming The Hunger Games and other movies of hers purposely to set an example for (younger) girls that being healthy and confident in your body is what counts. She kind of wanted to change the whole idea of Hollywood actresses always being so slim, and I think that that is such a good choice of hers. Besides that, can I get an amen for her wittiness? Her humor is sooo funny, I just gotta love her.

“Eating is one of my favorite parts of the day”  (Same girl, I feel you!)

6. Angelina Jolie

Just like Audrey, I feel that also Angelina has been misunderstood / misplaced quite often. Since she suffers from the Aspergers Syndrome and because she got bullied in school she had a pretty tough childhood. In her teenager years all of this had even led to depression and self-harm. She is probably one of the best examples on the ‘things will get better’ saying. I mean, look at how she has blossomed into such a beautiful, powerful and brave woman! But that is not all, I think most of you also know that Angelina is such an earth-lover at heart. She has adopted a few children and went to Cambodia to do charity work. The things she’s experienced there have left a great impact on her. You can really tell she is putting effort in making this world a better place and I absolutely admire her for doing that.

“Every day we choose who we are by how we define ourselves” 

“Without pain there would be no suffering, without suffering we would never learn from our mistakes.”

7. Natalie Portman

Natalie is such a classic. What I like about her is that she can do so much more than just acting. She can not only fluently speak Hebrew and English (since she’s Jewish and used to live Israel) but she apparently also knows some basics on French, German, Japanese and Spanish too. Woah! I guess she is a really smart woman. Maybe her language skills have to do with the fact that she went to Harvard College. In an interview she said she would like to be doctor when she’s older (just like her father). She also is a highly skilled ballet, tap and jazz dancer. She already took ballet lessons since she was 4 years old and she hasn’t stopped ever since. Talk about determination!

“I’d rather be smart than be a movie star” 

8. Emilia Clarke

Khaleesi, Mother of Dragons, Daenerys Targaryen. You know, that girl on Game of Thrones with the long blonde hair and full lips every girl would be jealous of. From her interviews and her performance on the serie Game of Thrones she seems like such a cool, stable woman. Maybe it also has to do with the fact that she can sing really great as well and because she used to have 3 to 6 different jobs (!!!) before getting her role as Daenerys. Did you know she suffered from a brain aneurysm whilst filming for the serie? She has got some balls, that’s for sure. Therefore I couldn’t resist putting her on the list as well. Here’s a quote of her on her role on Game Of Thrones:  

“I felt for Daenerys. I felt for her situation as a woman. Being in such a male-dominated society, where she was being abused by the men around her–it was that sort of sympathy, I suppose it started off as that. But then as you track her story, the problems that she overcomes and the way that she deals with them with such grace and the way that she deals with them when she has no training. The only thing that she has is herself and her iron will–that’s just a fabulous, incredible side to her character, really. And the fact that you watch her fall in love. You know, she meets the man that she loves more than anything else. She goes through painful events but she is still this strong, independent woman. And I think that, as a female, is what I really connected with.” 

And on that note I would like to end this list of power-women. Happy monday everyone! Stay fierce just like all of the ladies above. xxx

